Certain states consider a real estate transaction – the buying or selling of real property to be a legal transaction. In these states, the parties in the transaction must be represented by an attorney:

  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Massachusetts
  • New York
  • South Carolina
  • West Virginia

Real estate attorneys bring a wealth of knowledge to real estate transitions, whether required by your state or not. Unlike real estate agents who may represent both buyers and sellers within the same transaction, a real estate attorney can only represent you and your interests in the translation.

Browse more real estate law articles